That Marketing Buddy

Kit vs MailerLite: free to 10,000, or automation from tier one?

Email marketing and CRM platforms · Verified · By Joonas Rotko

Kit logo

Kit

Desk research

From Creator, billed annually

$33/mo

$39/mo billed monthly

MailerLite logo

MailerLite

Desk research

From Comfort, billed annually

$10.80/mo

$12/mo billed monthly

Quick answer

Kit is the better buy for a solo creator or a small list, and MailerLite is the better buy for a small team. Kit's free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers, far past MailerLite's free ceiling of 250 subscribers. But three seats forces Kit onto Pro at $79/month billed monthly for 1,000 subscribers. MailerLite Comfort includes 3 seats and is $19/month billed monthly for the same list.

Across the three setups below: Kit in 2 of 3 scenarios.

Which one fits you?

  1. Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier

    Kit logo

    Kit

    My pick

    $0/mo billed annually

    Kit's Free plan covers 10,000 subscribers at no cost, twenty times this scenario's 500. MailerLite's free plan stops at 250, so a 500-subscriber list needs Comfort at $12/month billed monthly, or $10.80/month billed annually.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Skip it if you want automation confirmed on the free tier itself. MailerLite's Free plan states 3 automations included; Kit doesn't break out an automation count for Free, only for Creator and Pro.

  2. Growing list, sending regularly

    Kit logo

    Kit

    My pick

    $0/mo billed annually

    Kit's Free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers, so 5,000 contacts cost nothing. MailerLite Comfort at this size is $49/month billed monthly, or $44.10/month billed annually.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Skip it if you need Kit's paid automation tier at this list size, which starts at $39/month billed monthly at 1,000 subscribers and rises with the list. MailerLite Comfort at $49/month billed monthly includes 50 automations.

  3. Small team managing one list together

    MailerLite logo

    MailerLite

    My pick

    $17.10/mo billed annually

    Three seats forces Kit onto Pro, since Creator includes only 2 seats. Kit Pro at 1,000 subscribers is $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually, with unlimited seats. MailerLite Comfort includes 3 seats, a direct match for this team, at $19/month billed monthly, or $17.10/month billed annually.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Skip it if your team will grow past three people or you want unlimited automations. Kit Pro has unlimited seats, and Kit includes unlimited automations on every paid tier, where MailerLite Comfort includes 50.

Neither fits? See the alternatives, or take the 2-minute recommendation.

How are Kit and MailerLite really different?

  • Free plan subscriber ceiling

    Kit
    10,000 subscribers included, at no cost
    MailerLite
    250 subscribers, then campaign and automation sending locks until you upgrade or trim the list

    A list in the low thousands costs nothing on Kit and forces a decision on MailerLite well before that.

  • Entry paid price and what it buys

    Kit
    Creator: $39/month billed monthly, 2 seats, unlimited automations, at 1,000 subscribers
    MailerLite
    Comfort: $12/month billed monthly, 3 seats, 50 automations, at the 500-subscriber entry band

    MailerLite's entry tier is cheaper in dollars and starts at a smaller list, but Kit buys unlimited automation from the first paid dollar. MailerLite caps Comfort's automation count and only removes the cap on Power.

  • Automation depth by tier

    Kit
    Unlimited visual automations and email sequences on both Creator and Pro
    MailerLite
    3 on Free, 50 on Comfort, unlimited from Power up

    MailerLite actually confirms automation on its free tier, something Kit doesn't state either way; Kit only guarantees unlimited automation once you're paying.

  • Team seats by tier

    Kit
    1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro
    MailerLite
    2 on Free, 3 on Comfort, unlimited on Power and Enterprise

    MailerLite's Comfort tier alone covers a 3-person team. Kit needs its top tier, Pro, for the same headcount, and that is a big jump in price.

  • Pricing as the list grows

    Kit
    Creator and Pro start at 1,000 subscribers and rise in steps with the list, up to 400,000 subscribers
    MailerLite
    Comfort and Power start at 500 subscribers and rise in steps with the list; MailerLite moves paid accounts up to the next band and bills the card on file

    Both tools price by list size, so check your own list size on each pricing page. At the sizes I price, MailerLite's paid plans are cheaper than Kit's.

  • Trial and refund terms

    Kit
    14-day trial, no card required; refunds within the first 30 days of signup
    MailerLite
    14-day trial, no card required, reverting to the permanent Free plan afterward; refunds are discretionary within 30 days, not a guarantee

    Both trials are genuinely risk-free to start, and both vendors document a refund path after you've paid. Kit's covers any plan in its first 30 days, while MailerLite's is discretionary rather than automatic.

What will Kit or MailerLite cost for your setup?

The cheapest plan that covers each setup, add-ons included. Prices exclude VAT.

Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier

500 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 1 user

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

My pick
$0
$0

Free

Above 10,000 subscribers: Creator (+$141/mo, billed annually).

MailerLite

$12
$10.80

Comfort

Above 200,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See Kit plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 500 of 10,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $0 a year.
  • On annual billing: $0 a year.

MailerLite

  • Uses 500 of 200,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $144 a year.
  • On annual billing: $129.60 a year.

Growing list, sending regularly

5,000 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 1 user

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

My pick
$0
$0

Free

Above 10,000 subscribers: Creator (+$141/mo, billed annually).

MailerLite

$49
$44.10

Comfort

Above 200,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See Kit plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 5,000 of 10,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $0 a year.
  • On annual billing: $0 a year.

MailerLite

  • Uses 5,000 of 200,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $588 a year.
  • On annual billing: $529.20 a year.

Small team managing one list together

1,000 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 3 users

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

$79
$66

Pro

Above 400,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

MailerLite

My pick
$19
$17.10

Comfort

Above 200,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See MailerLite plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 1,000 of 400,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $948 a year.
  • On annual billing: $792 a year.

MailerLite

  • Uses 1,000 of 200,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $228 a year.
  • On annual billing: $205.20 a year.
How I calculated this

For each tool I price every current plan plus the add-ons a setup needs, from the vendor's published prices only, and take the cheapest. Monthly and annual billing are priced separately. When a limit or price isn't published, the tool shows as not fitting instead of a guess.

  • Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier: A list of about 500 contacts, just past the free tiers most vendors offer. One login. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.
  • Growing list, sending regularly: A list of 5,000 contacts, sending regularly. One login. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.
  • Small team managing one list together: Three people logging in to the same 1,000-contact list. Seats, not list size, are the deciding limit. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.

Kit vs MailerLite side by side

I compare email/CRM platforms on: Real cost per list size, both billing bases; Free-tier contact ceiling before you must pay anything; Team seats included, and the seat price past that; List segmentation depth; Automation workflow depth and any step/action limits; Deliverability and sending limits (emails per month, per day, or per rolling window); CRM and ecommerce integration depth; What happens past your plan's contact ceiling (overage pricing vs a forced upgrade).

Kit and MailerLite compared on the main buying criteria
Free plan subscriber ceiling10,000 subscribers, free250 subscribers, free
Entry paid price, both billing basesCreator: $39/month billed monthly, $33/month billed annuallyComfort: $12/month billed monthly, $10.80/month billed annually
Real cost for 3 seats at 1,000 subscribersPro: $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually.Comfort: $19/month billed monthly, or $17.10/month billed annually.
Automation depth by tierUnlimited on both Creator and Pro3 on Free, 50 on Comfort, unlimited from Power up
Team seats included1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro2 on Free, 3 on Comfort, unlimited on Power and Enterprise
All details, including automation and AI workflows
All compared details for Kit and MailerLite
Trial terms14 days, no card required14 days, no card required
Refund termsRefunds within the first 30 days of signup, on monthly or annual plansDiscretionary refunds within 30 days of the transaction date, not a guaranteed money-back policy
Paid subscriptions / monetizationIncluded; Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processingNot a documented feature
API accessNot broken out by tierLimited (no sending) on Free; full sending access from Comfort up
How the price rises with list sizeCreator and Pro start at 1,000 subscribers and rise in steps up to 400,000 subscribersComfort and Power start at 500 subscribers and rise in steps as the list grows; paid accounts move up a band automatically
Full price ladderFree (up to 10,000 subscribers). Creator: $39/month billed monthly, or $33/month billed annually, at the 1,000-subscriber entry band. Pro: $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually, at the same band. Both rise in steps with the list.Free (up to 250 subscribers). Comfort: $12/month billed monthly, or $10.80/month billed annually, at the 500-subscriber entry band. Power: $25/month billed monthly, or $22.50/month billed annually. Enterprise: Custom pricing, gated to 200,000+ subscribers. Comfort and Power rise in steps with the list.
How pricing scalesSubscriber-count tiered. Creator and Pro start at 1,000 subscribers and rise in steps up to 400,000 subscribers.Subscriber-count tiered. Every band on a given tier carries the same feature set, only the price rises. Crossing a band moves a paid account up and bills the card on file.
Free plan sending capsNot stated: Kit's pricing page doesn't break out a monthly email-send limit for Free.2,500 emails a month, at up to 250 subscribers
Landing pages includedNot stated1 on Free, 10 on Comfort, unlimited on Power
White-label (remove vendor branding)Not statedBranding stays on Free-plan emails and forms; removable from Comfort up
Paid subscriptions and monetization feeDigital product sales and paid subscriptions included from Free up; Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processingNot a documented feature on any tier
Extra-seat pricingNot stated; seat counts are fixed per tier (1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro)No a la carte extra-seat price published; seat counts are fixed per tier (2 on Free, 3 on Comfort, unlimited on Power and Enterprise)
Refund / money-back termsRefunds within the first 30 days of signup, on monthly or annual plansDiscretionary refunds only, within 30 days of the transaction date; not a guaranteed money-back policy

Who should pick Kit, and who should pick MailerLite?

Kit logo

Kit

Desk research
  • Best for solo marketers and small businesses
  • Best for growing lists sending regularly

Kit is a creator-first email platform with a free tier up to 10,000 subscribers and automations on the paid plans. The paid tiers add advanced automation, engagement analytics and unlimited team members, and the bundle is the strength: email, digital product sales and paid subscriptions all come standard, not as add-ons, with Kit keeping 0.6% of each sale. It suits creators who want a complete toolkit in one place.

Best for: Email creators and small publishers who need email and product sales in one place, and are fine with a small platform fee on subscriber revenue.

Strengths

  • A real free plan up to 10,000 subscribers, with 1 team member and no trial required.
  • Kit keeps only 0.6% of each digital product or subscription sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processing.
  • Unlimited visual automations and paid subscriptions from the Creator plan ($39/month billed monthly at the entry list size).

Limits

  • The free tier goes up to 10,000 subscribers, so paying only makes sense once you need automation, paid subscriptions or more seats rather than more room.
  • Creator includes 2 team seats; unlimited seats only arrive at the Pro plan ($79/month billed monthly at the entry list size).
  • Published prices run up to 400,000 subscribers; above that Kit asks you to request a custom plan.

Skip it if you need more than 1 team seat on Free.

Kit reviewKit pricingKit alternatives

MailerLite logo

MailerLite

Desk research
  • Best for small teams sharing one account

MailerLite prices by subscriber count, not by locking features behind tiers, so a $12/month billed monthly plan gets the same automation builder and landing pages as the top tier, just fewer of each. The free plan is a real permanent plan, not a trial, capped at 250 subscribers.

Best for: A small business or solo marketer who wants full features at a low subscriber count and doesn't want to pay for a bigger list than they have yet.

Strengths

  • A genuine free plan at 250 subscribers, not a time-limited trial.
  • A 14-day trial of paid features with no card required.
  • Automation and landing pages scale by count, not by locking the builder away from cheaper tiers.

Limits

  • Removing the MailerLite logo needs Comfort or above.
  • API and MCP access on Free is limited and can't send.
  • Refunds are discretionary, not a guaranteed money-back window; MailerLite's terms only commit to a refund if it cancels your service on you first.

Skip it if you need white label or logo removal on the free plan, or unrestricted API sending without upgrading past Free.

MailerLite reviewMailerLite pricingMailerLite alternatives

My pick: Kit in 2 of 3 scenarios.

See Kit plansSee MailerLite plans

Neither Kit nor MailerLite? Try these

  • Mailchimp logo

    Mailchimp

    From $27/mo billed monthly

    Pick it if you want an email tool most collaborators already recognize, even though its free plan tops out earlier than either Kit's or MailerLite's.

    Mailchimp reviewMailchimp alternatives

  • Brevo logo

    Brevo

    From $8.08/mo billed annually

    Pick it if you want SMS and transactional email bundled with marketing email under one account, rather than as a bolt-on.

    Brevo reviewBrevo alternatives

  • beehiiv logo

    beehiiv

    From $43.08/mo billed annually

    Pick it if you want a publishing-first platform built around growth tools (an ad network, referral programs) rather than Kit's or MailerLite's campaign-and-automation focus.

    Outside this category: Newsletter-publishing platform, not a general email-marketing/CRM tool: no campaign-based marketing automation the way Kit and MailerLite both have.

    beehiiv reviewbeehiiv alternatives

Switching between Kit and MailerLite

Neither vendor documents a specific migration tool, import fee, or list-transfer guarantee, so this stays qualitative: expect to re-import your contact list and rebuild automations by hand in either direction, since no free concierge migration is documented for Kit or MailerLite. Both trials run 14 days with no card required, so you can test a rebuild on either side without a billing risk, though MailerLite's trial reverts your account to its permanent Free plan afterward rather than lapsing entirely.

What would change my pick?

  • Kit adding a plan between Creator and Pro with three seats would remove the biggest price gap for a small team.
  • A price change on either side. The scenario picks recalculate when a vendor changes a price.
  • MailerLite lifting Comfort's automation cap, or Kit confirming automation on its Free plan, would close the one real gap in this comparison: which free tier actually runs automations, not just which free tier is bigger.

Kit vs MailerLite: questions people ask

Is Kit free?

Yes, up to 10,000 subscribers, no time limit. Past that you need Creator ($39/mo) or Pro ($79/mo), both starting at 1,000 subscribers.

Is MailerLite free?

Yes, up to 250 subscribers, permanently, with 2,500 emails a month included. Past that you're on Comfort, starting at $12/month billed monthly.

Which is cheaper, Kit or MailerLite?

For a small or mid-sized list, Kit: its free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers at no cost, while MailerLite's free plan caps at 250 subscribers and Comfort is $49/month billed monthly at 5,000. For a 3-person team at 1,000 subscribers MailerLite is cheaper. Comfort is $19/month billed monthly and Kit Pro is $79/month billed monthly.

Does MailerLite's free plan include automation?

Yes, 3 automations, confirmed on the pricing page. Kit doesn't break out automation by tier for Free, only for Creator and Pro, both confirmed at unlimited automations.

How does pricing scale as my list grows?

Both vendors raise the price with subscriber count rather than by feature. Kit's paid tiers start at 1,000 subscribers and rise in steps from there. MailerLite's start at 500 subscribers, and it moves your account up and bills the card on file as your list crosses each band.

Can I sell paid subscriptions or products through either tool?

Yes on Kit, built in from Free up. Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processing. MailerLite doesn't have a documented paid-subscription or digital-product feature; it's built for campaign sending and automation, not creator monetization.

What will this cost me at 5,000 subscribers, or for a 3-person team on a 1,000-subscriber list?

At 5,000 subscribers, Kit's Free plan still covers you at no cost, since it goes up to 10,000 subscribers. MailerLite Comfort is $49/month billed monthly. For a 3-person team on a 1,000-subscriber list, Kit Pro is $79/month billed monthly with unlimited seats. MailerLite Comfort includes the seats too, at $19/month billed monthly.

How I verified this

Every price and limit here comes from the vendors' own pages, last checked . Kit: desk research. MailerLite: desk research.

Sources and changelog

35 facts from 6 source pages, oldest checked 30 Sep 2026.

  • : Updated for new pricing. Kit keeps a small percentage of each paid-subscription sale and documents a refund window. Kit's free plan wins the 500-subscriber and 5,000-subscriber scenarios on price. The 3-person team scenario now picks MailerLite: Kit needs Pro for three seats and MailerLite Comfort is far cheaper at 1,000 subscribers.
Spot something out of date?Vendors and readers, send me the correct fact.

Software sites change almost every week, and I want every claim on this page to be factually correct. If you are a vendor or a reader, send me the correct fact and a link to the official page. I will check it and update the page. The opinions and rankings stay mine.

I only change a fact when the official page shows it.

Free. I use your details only to follow up. Privacy

Compare Kit or MailerLite with another tool

Kit vs …

MailerLite vs …

WEEKLY NEWSLETTER

The SEO and AI visibility software worth your money, and the ones that are not

Every week: which SEO and AI visibility tools actually move the needle, what they really cost when the intro discount ends, and which ones to skip. Written for people running their own marketing, not for engineers. No fluff, no daily spam.

Join for free. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime. I use your email only for this. Privacy policy