That Marketing Buddy

Kit vs Mailchimp: free at almost any size, or paid from day one?

Email marketing and CRM platforms · Verified · By Joonas Rotko

Kit logo

Kit

Desk research

From Creator, billed annually

$33/mo

$39/mo billed monthly

Mailchimp logo

Mailchimp

Hands-on

From Essentials, billed monthly

$27/mo

Quick answer

For most solo creators and small businesses, Kit is the better buy. Its free plan is verified up to 10,000 subscribers, far past where Mailchimp's free plan stops at 250 contacts. Where Kit does charge, its Creator and Pro prices step up with list size across a published ladder that runs to 400,000 subscribers. Mailchimp is the name more people recognize, not the cheaper or better-documented option at these sizes. Prices verified 30 Sep 2026.

Across the three setups below: Kit in 3 of 3 scenarios.

Which one fits you?

  1. Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier

    Kit logo

    Kit

    My pick

    $0/mo billed annually

    Kit's Free plan covers 10,000 subscribers at no cost, well past this scenario's 500. Mailchimp's free plan caps at 250 contacts, so a 500-contact list forces you onto Essentials at $27/month billed monthly.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Skip it if you need automation running from day one. Kit doesn't confirm automation on Free, only from Creator ($39/month billed monthly) up; Mailchimp's free plan confirms it has none either, so neither tool's free tier is a safe bet for automation at this size.

  2. Growing list, sending regularly

    Kit logo

    Kit

    My pick

    $0/mo billed annually

    Kit's Free plan is verified up to 10,000 subscribers, comfortably covering a 5,000-contact list at no cost. Mailchimp's cheapest paid option at this size is Essentials at $75/month billed monthly, with no annual rate.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Skip it if you need Kit's paid automation tier at this list size. Kit's Free plan has no automation, and Creator and Pro both price by subscriber count, so check Kit's calculator for your exact list size before you commit. Mailchimp's Essentials, at $75/month billed monthly for 5,000 contacts, caps automation at Up to 4 flow steps.

  3. Small team managing one list together

    Kit logo

    Kit

    My pick

    $66/mo billed annually

    Three seats forces an upgrade on both tools. Kit Pro gives unlimited seats and unlimited automations, and costs $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually. Mailchimp's Essentials includes 3 seats at $27/month billed monthly, with no annual rate and automation capped at Up to 4 flow steps.

    Why this pick, and when to skip it

    Mailchimp is cheaper on monthly billing, but Kit Pro is the only one of the two with an annual rate, and it includes unlimited automations and unlimited seats where Mailchimp Essentials caps automation.

    Skip it if you only need 3 seats and basic automation. Mailchimp Essentials at $27/month billed monthly already includes 3 seats and is cheaper than Kit Pro on monthly billing, and you wouldn't need Kit's unlimited-seat tier at all.

Neither fits? See the alternatives, or take the 2-minute recommendation.

How are Kit and Mailchimp really different?

  • Free plan subscriber ceiling

    Kit
    10,000 subscribers included, at no cost
    Mailchimp
    250 contacts, then you're on a paid plan

    A list of a few thousand contacts costs nothing on Kit and forces an upgrade on Mailchimp almost immediately.

  • Entry paid price and what it buys

    Kit
    Creator: $39/month billed monthly, 2 seats, unlimited automations, at 1,000 subscribers
    Mailchimp
    Essentials: $27/month billed monthly, 3 seats, automation capped at Up to 4 flow steps, confirmed at 25,000 contacts

    Mailchimp's entry tier is cheaper in dollars, but Kit's buys unlimited automation from the first paid dollar; Mailchimp holds full automation back for a higher tier.

  • Automation depth by tier

    Kit
    Unlimited visual automations and email sequences on both Creator and Pro
    Mailchimp
    Up to 4 flow steps on Essentials, jumping to Up to 200 flows on Standard

    Mailchimp's Essentials tier is a real step down in automation depth, not just a smaller quota of the same builder.

  • Team seats by tier

    Kit
    1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro
    Mailchimp
    1 on Free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, unlimited on Premium

    A 3-person team hits the seat ceiling on Kit's Free and Creator plans and needs Pro; Mailchimp reaches 3 seats one tier up from free instead of two.

  • How far each price is published

    Kit
    Creator and Pro prices are published for every list size from 1,000 up to 400,000 subscribers
    Mailchimp
    Essentials, Standard and Premium prices are confirmed only up to 25,000 contacts; pricing above that runs up a multi-step contact slider

    Kit publishes a price at each list size up to 400,000 subscribers. Mailchimp's published prices stop earlier, so budget a growing Mailchimp list on its own calculator.

  • Trial terms

    Kit
    14 days, no card required
    Mailchimp
    14 days on Essentials/Standard, card required, auto-converts to paid

    You can test Kit's paid tier without a billing risk; forgetting to cancel Mailchimp's trial gets you charged automatically.

What will Kit or Mailchimp cost for your setup?

The cheapest plan that covers each setup, add-ons included. Prices exclude VAT.

Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier

500 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 1 user

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

My pick
$0
$0

Free

Above 10,000 subscribers: Creator (+$141/mo, billed annually).

Mailchimp

$27
$297.50

Essentials monthly, Premium annually

Above 25,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See Kit plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 500 of 10,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $0 a year.
  • On annual billing: $0 a year.

Mailchimp

  • Uses 500 of 25,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $324 a year.
  • On annual billing: $3,570 a year.

Growing list, sending regularly

5,000 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 1 user

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

My pick
$0
$0

Free

Above 10,000 subscribers: Creator (+$141/mo, billed annually).

Mailchimp

$75
Monthly only

Essentials

Above 25,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See Kit plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 5,000 of 10,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $0 a year.
  • On annual billing: $0 a year.

Mailchimp

  • Uses 5,000 of 25,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $900 a year.

Small team managing one list together

1,000 subscribers · mailed 3 times a month (for tools priced by emails sent) · 3 users

ToolMonthlyYearly, per month

Kit

My pick
$79
$66

Pro

Above 400,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

Mailchimp

$27
Monthly only

Essentials

Above 25,000 subscribers: nothing published fits.

See Kit plans
Usage, limits and billing

Kit

  • Uses 1,000 of 400,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $948 a year.
  • On annual billing: $792 a year.

Mailchimp

  • Uses 1,000 of 25,000 subscribers.
  • On monthly billing: $324 a year.
How I calculated this

For each tool I price every current plan plus the add-ons a setup needs, from the vendor's published prices only, and take the cheapest. Monthly and annual billing are priced separately. When a limit or price isn't published, the tool shows as not fitting instead of a guess.

  • Solo marketer or small business, a list just past the free tier: A list of about 500 contacts, just past the free tiers most vendors offer. One login. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.
  • Growing list, sending regularly: A list of 5,000 contacts, sending regularly. One login. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.Mailchimp, annual billing: Not sold on annual billing. Price limit isn't published.
  • Small team managing one list together: Three people logging in to the same 1,000-contact list. Seats, not list size, are the deciding limit. Tools priced by emails sent are costed at three mailings per subscriber a month.Mailchimp, annual billing: Not sold on annual billing. Price limit isn't published.

Kit vs Mailchimp side by side

I compare email/CRM platforms on: Real cost per list size, both billing bases; Free-tier contact ceiling before you must pay anything; Team seats included, and the seat price past that; List segmentation depth; Automation workflow depth and any step/action limits; Deliverability and sending limits (emails per month, per day, or per rolling window); CRM and ecommerce integration depth; What happens past your plan's contact ceiling (overage pricing vs a forced upgrade).

Kit and Mailchimp compared on the main buying criteria
Free plan subscriber/contact ceiling10,000 subscribers, free250 contacts, free
Entry paid price, both billing basesCreator: $39/month billed monthly, or $33/month billed annuallyEssentials: $27/month billed monthly; no self-serve annual rate shown at this contact band
Automation depth by tierUnlimited on both Creator and ProUp to 4 flow steps on Essentials, Up to 200 flows from Standard up
Team seats included1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro1 on Free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, unlimited on Premium
Trial terms14 days, no card required14 days on Essentials/Standard, card required, auto-converts to paid
All details, including automation and AI workflows
All compared details for Kit and Mailchimp
Refund termsRefunds within the first 30 days of signup, on monthly or annual plansNo published guarantee window; refunds only for a system malfunction or a wrongful termination
Paid subscriptions / monetizationIncluded; Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processingNot a documented feature
How far each price is publishedEvery list size from 1,000 up to 400,000 subscribersOnly up to 25,000 contacts; the ladder above that is unverified (multi-step slider)
Full price ladderFree (up to 10,000 subscribers). Creator: $39/month billed monthly, or $33/month billed annually, at 1,000 subscribers, rising with list size up to 400,000. Pro: $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually, at 1,000 subscribers, rising with list size up to 400,000.Free (up to 250 contacts). Essentials: $27/month billed monthly. Standard: $45/month billed monthly. Premium: $350/month billed monthly month to month, or $297.50/month billed annually on a fixed-term plan. All three confirmed only up to 25,000 contacts.
How pricing scalesSubscriber-count tiered: Creator and Pro's listed prices are the entry band at 1,000 subscribers, and the price rises in steps with list size up to 400,000 subscribers.Contact-count tiered on a multi-step slider; every tier's price rises with the selected band, confirmed here only at the 25,000-contact floor.
Free plan sending capsNot stated: Kit's pricing page doesn't break out a monthly email-send limit for Free.500 emails a month or 250 a day, whichever hits first, at up to 250 contacts
Paid subscriptions and monetization feeDigital product sales and paid subscriptions included from Free up; Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processingNot a documented feature on any tier
SupportNot broken out by tierEssentials and Standard: 24/7 Email & Chat Support. Premium: Phone & Priority Support.
Extra-seat pricingNot stated; seat counts are fixed per tier (1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro)No a la carte extra-seat price published; seat counts are fixed per tier (1 on Free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, unlimited on Premium)
Refund / money-back termsRefunds within the first 30 days of signup, on monthly or annual plansNo published guarantee window; refunds granted only for a system malfunction or a wrongful termination

Who should pick Kit, and who should pick Mailchimp?

Kit logo

Kit

Desk research
  • Best for solo marketers and small businesses
  • Best for growing lists sending regularly
  • Best for small teams sharing one account

Kit is a creator-first email platform with a free tier up to 10,000 subscribers and automations on the paid plans. The paid tiers add advanced automation, engagement analytics and unlimited team members, and the bundle is the strength: email, digital product sales and paid subscriptions all come standard, not as add-ons, with Kit keeping 0.6% of each sale. It suits creators who want a complete toolkit in one place.

Best for: Email creators and small publishers who need email and product sales in one place, and are fine with a small platform fee on subscriber revenue.

Strengths

  • A real free plan up to 10,000 subscribers, with 1 team member and no trial required.
  • Kit keeps only 0.6% of each digital product or subscription sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processing.
  • Unlimited visual automations and paid subscriptions from the Creator plan ($39/month billed monthly at the entry list size).

Limits

  • The free tier goes up to 10,000 subscribers, so paying only makes sense once you need automation, paid subscriptions or more seats rather than more room.
  • Creator includes 2 team seats; unlimited seats only arrive at the Pro plan ($79/month billed monthly at the entry list size).
  • Published prices run up to 400,000 subscribers; above that Kit asks you to request a custom plan.

Skip it if you need more than 1 team seat on Free.

Kit reviewKit pricingKit alternatives

Mailchimp logo

Mailchimp

Hands-on

I used Mailchimp heavily during my agency years, across client accounts of very different sizes, and what wore me down was the pricing: you end up paying a premium for every part of it, including the simplest tasks. The free plan caps out fast at 250 contacts, and the paid tiers scale by contact count on top of the $27/month billed monthly entry rate. Generative AI features and full automation flows sit behind Standard, not Essentials. It is the category default people already know, not the best value in it: there are cheaper, more current alternatives worth checking first.

Best for: Someone who already knows Mailchimp from a past job and wants the familiar interface, or a small list under 250 contacts that fits the free plan.

Strengths

  • A genuine free plan with no time limit, not just a trial, for lists under 250 contacts.
  • 300+ integrations including WordPress and Zapier bundled into every paid tier.
  • Generative AI features included at no extra cost once you reach Standard.

Limits

  • Essentials includes no generative AI features and automation flows capped at 4 steps.
  • Pricing scales with contact count on a 20-step slider, so the $27/month billed monthly entry rate only holds under 500 contacts.
  • No published extra-seat price and no standard money-back guarantee window, refunds are discretionary.

Skip it if you want AI features or real automation on an entry-level paid plan, since Essentials locks both out and Standard starts at $45/month billed monthly.

Mailchimp reviewMailchimp pricingMailchimp alternatives

My pick: Kit in 3 of 3 scenarios.

See Kit plansSee Mailchimp plans

Neither Kit nor Mailchimp? Try these

  • MailerLite logo

    MailerLite

    From $10.80/mo billed annually

    Pick it if you want a cheaper general email-marketing entry tier than either Kit or Mailchimp, with automation included on its own free plan.

    MailerLite reviewMailerLite alternatives

  • Brevo logo

    Brevo

    From $8.08/mo billed annually

    Pick it if you want SMS and transactional email bundled with marketing email under one account, rather than as a bolt-on.

    Brevo reviewBrevo alternatives

  • beehiiv logo

    beehiiv

    From $43.08/mo billed annually

    Pick it if you want a publishing-first platform built around growth tools (an ad network, referral programs) rather than Kit's product-and-subscription focus.

    Outside this category: Newsletter-publishing platform, not a general email-marketing/CRM tool: no campaign-based marketing automation the way Kit and Mailchimp both have.

    beehiiv reviewbeehiiv alternatives

Switching between Kit and Mailchimp

Neither vendor documents a specific migration tool, import fee, or list-transfer guarantee, so this stays qualitative: expect to re-import your contact list and rebuild automations by hand in either direction, since no free concierge migration is documented for Kit or Mailchimp. Kit's 14-day trial needs no card, so you can test a rebuild there without a billing risk; Mailchimp's 14-day trial requires a card and auto-converts to paid if you forget to cancel.

What would change my pick?

  • Kit publishing a price for lists above 400,000 subscribers, which it now sends to a custom-plan demo, would let this page state its cost for a very large list.
  • Mailchimp publishing a self-serve price past 25,000 contacts would let this page compare both tools at the same list size directly.
  • Mailchimp unlocking full automation on Essentials, or a lower entry price than Kit Creator at the same subscriber band, would close the gap driving Kit's pick at the team-account scenario.

Kit vs Mailchimp: questions people ask

Is Kit free?

Yes, up to 10,000 subscribers, no time limit. Past that you need Creator ($39/mo) or Pro ($79/month billed monthly), both priced by subscriber count from 1,000 up to 400,000 subscribers.

Is Mailchimp free?

Yes, up to 250 contacts, permanently. Past that you're on Essentials ($27/month billed monthly), a price confirmed only up to 25,000 contacts.

Which is cheaper, Kit or Mailchimp?

For a small list, Kit: its free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers at no cost, while Mailchimp's free plan caps at 250 contacts and forces you onto Essentials ($27/month billed monthly) well before that. Past Kit's free ceiling, Creator is priced by subscriber count up to 400,000 subscribers, while Mailchimp's published prices stop at 25,000 contacts.

Does Kit's free plan include automation?

Kit doesn't break out automation by tier for Free, only for Creator and Pro, both confirmed at unlimited automations. Mailchimp's free plan explicitly has none.

How does pricing scale as my list grows?

Both vendors raise price with list size rather than raise it by feature. Kit scales by subscriber count in steps from 1,000 up to 400,000 subscribers on its paid tiers; Mailchimp scales by contact count across its own multi-step slider, with published prices up to 25,000 contacts.

Can I sell paid subscriptions or products through either tool?

Yes on Kit, built in from Free up. Kit keeps 0.6% of each sale, inside an all-in transaction fee that already covers card processing. Mailchimp doesn't have a documented paid-subscription or digital-product feature; it's built for campaign sending and automation, not creator monetization.

What will this cost me at 5,000 contacts, or for a 3-person team on a 1,000-contact list?

At 5,000 contacts, Kit's Free plan still covers you at no cost, since it's verified up to 10,000 subscribers; Mailchimp's Essentials is $75/month billed monthly. For a 3-person team on a 1,000-contact list, Kit Pro is $79/month billed monthly, or $66/month billed annually; Mailchimp's Essentials includes the seats at $27/month billed monthly, with no annual rate.

How I verified this

Every price and limit here comes from the vendors' own pages, last checked . Kit: desk research. Mailchimp: hands-on.

Sources and changelog

36 facts from 6 source pages, oldest checked 30 Sep 2026.

  • : Kit's platform fee is a small percentage of each sale rather than nothing, Kit's published price ladder runs to a higher subscriber ceiling, and Kit documents a refund window. The picks stay the same.
  • : New page, built for the crm-email-platforms category rollout. Kit's Free plan, which runs to a high subscriber ceiling, wins the small-list and growing-list scenarios on price alone. The team-account scenario uses Kit Pro's price against Mailchimp's Essentials, whose seat count fits.
Spot something out of date?Vendors and readers, send me the correct fact.

Software sites change almost every week, and I want every claim on this page to be factually correct. If you are a vendor or a reader, send me the correct fact and a link to the official page. I will check it and update the page. The opinions and rankings stay mine.

I only change a fact when the official page shows it.

Free. I use your details only to follow up. Privacy

Compare Kit or Mailchimp with another tool

Kit vs …

Mailchimp vs …

WEEKLY NEWSLETTER

The SEO and AI visibility software worth your money, and the ones that are not

Every week: which SEO and AI visibility tools actually move the needle, what they really cost when the intro discount ends, and which ones to skip. Written for people running their own marketing, not for engineers. No fluff, no daily spam.

Join for free. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime. I use your email only for this. Privacy policy